LA H.B.710—Commercial Dog Breeder Registration Sponsor: Representative Thomas Carmody
Currently in Louisiana, commercial dog breeders do not face any regulation at all, including the need to register with the locality. This bill would require all breeders to register with the parish (equivalent to a county) for which they reside. The bill would also include a requirement that commercial dog breeders be inspected annually.
ME L.D. 335—Prohibition on the Sale of Commercially Bred Dogs and Cats in Pet Stores Sponsor:
Representative Kimberly Monaghan
It would prevent new pet stores from selling dogs and cats purchased from commercial breeders and require pet stores to sell animals from rescues or shelters. This would be a first in the nation law that could not only reduce the harm done in many pet stores, but could also bring Maine’s stray/ shelter population down very quickly. Supporters hold this law would also reduce euthanasia rates by increasing turnover at shelters.
MO H.B. 479—Certain Exemptions for Data Collected by State Agencies Under Missouri’s Sunshine Law Sponsor: Representative Jay Houghton
This should just be called the “Animal Abuse by Corporations is Classified” bill. It would exempt animal health and environmental impact reports from disclosure requirements, effectively keeping information about animal abuse secret. It is a variation on the more common “Ag-Gag” bills, which make it a crime to report misconduct on the part of farms to the public.
NC H.B. 159—Commercial Dog Breeding Care Standards Sponsor:
Representative Jason Saine
This bill is similar to the one in Louisiana, requiring commercial dog breeders to register with the state and setting minimum standards (food, water, exercise, veterinary care) for the care of the animals. The fine for noncompliance is small ($25 per animal) and limited to a total of $1,000.
MA Protections for Puppies and Kittens (HD 2126, SD 974) Sponsors:
Representative Garrett Bradley and Senator Karen Spilka
These bills would protect puppies, kittens and consumers by forbidding the sale of puppies and kittens until the animals are at least 8 weeks old. It also improves the state’s existing options under the “puppy lemon law” for families that unknowingly purchase a sick pet. It ensures pet shops only sell puppies and kittens from breeders that adhere to certain standards and don’t have significant or repeat violations of the Animal Welfare Act.
By Sarah ZumHofe